Nine Grants Awarded During Annual BPW Ice Cream Sundae Social

Nine grants were awarded to easternTaneyCounty non-profit organizations from the Forsyth Community Grantmaking Fund (FCGF), which is a fund under the umbrella of the Community Foundation of Taney County.

The following organizations were recipients of 2007 grants from the Community Foundation of Taney County's Grantmaking Fund: Boy Scout Troop 272, Bonniebrook Historical Society, White River Valley Historical Society, My Neighbor’s Pantry, Rockaway Beach Library and Museum, Forsyth Library, OACAC Head Start,ForsythSeniorFriendshipCenter, and The Hiding Place. Peoples Bank of the Ozarks in Forsyth was also recognized as a local business that is particularly involved with the FCGF including underwriting all administrative costs of the panel.

The awards were given at the Forsyth Business and Professional Women’s (BPW) annual “Ice Cream Sundae Social” on Saturday, May 05. Lyla Girth, president of the BPW, announced during the event that all proceeds from the Social would be donated to the FCGF as one of their fundraisers. Leslie Wyman, Chairperson of the Community Foundation of Taney County Panel, discussed the role of the CFTC in the community, explaining that it was established in order to provide an income to be reinvested annually in the form of grants to eastern Taney County non-profit organizations, churches, and schools.

Doug Jordan, president of the Community Foundation of Taney County, recognized the efforts of the Grantmaking Fund Panel and encouraged all present to donate to CFTC to ensure its continued growth. He discussed the goals and purpose of the Foundation and announced that a Branson area Grantmaking Fund is being established to meet the needs of the western portion of the county.

Fundraisers for 2007 for the CFTC include a Rubber Duckie Derby during Chamber Day in July, an all-day Scrapbooking Crop in August, and the Festival of Trees in December. Members of the CFTC Panel are Leslie Wyman, Chairperson; Donna Bassett, Secretary; Michael Gailey, Treasurer; Barbara Graham, Activities Coordinator; Ben Bilyeu. Sylvia Cornette, Lyla Girth. And Penny Hasson.

- By Leslie Wyman – Taney County Times – May 9, 2007

Back to Events